Seven Very Inspiring Things About the Sisterhood

I feel so blessed and thankful to be surrounded by such wonderful people in the blogosphere. I am about two weeks behind on getting to these, but I have not forgotten about them. During my recent difficult time, some kind friends here in the blogging world, presented me with three more awards. Each one put a smile on my face and a sense of acceptance in my heart, and I thank the three people who gave them to me. So, without any further ado, I shall get to them.

 

The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

Kathy at Bipolar and Breastless gave this award to me. I am so happy to have met Kathy, and I love her blog. She is inspiring and relatable in how she writes. She carries Jesus with her, and is generous with her warmth. I thank her so much for thinking of me for this award and making me feel like I belong here.

The Rules:

  • Display the award logo somewhere on the blog.
  • Link back to the blog of the person who nominated you.
  • State 7 things about yourself.
  • Nominate other bloggers for the award, and provide links to their blogs.
  • Notify those bloggers that they have been nominated, and of the award’s requirements.

 

Seven Things:

  1. I just finished reading An Unquiet Mind: A Memoir of Moods and Madness, by Kay Redfield Jamison. What a wonderful book! Not only does she have bipolar, but she also studied mental illness and health, and received her PH.D, all while she continued to suffer from its drastic effects on her life. In this book, she was able to put the pain of mental illness into such a relatable and at times haunting context. I really should do a post on it. I highly recommend reading it, if you have not already. In my opinion, it’s a great book for both sufferers of mental illness, and their loved ones.
  2. The volume level on my TV is always on an even number. I can’t have it at an odd number, or it just feels wrong. I’ve tried it, and it will bug me until I fix it.
  3. As a little kid, I once got a mixing bowl, some Hershey Kisses, and a cup of water. I kept mixing the Kisses and water together. In my mind, I thought if I mixed long enough, they’d eventually turn into a chocolate mix that I could bake into a cake.
  4. Sometimes, I worry that people I know, whom are parents, will think, “Glad she’s not my kid” when they think of me, and my messed up life. As much as I like my therapist and feel comfortable with her, I don’t want to know if she’s a mom, ‘cause then I’ll worry that thought goes through her head too.
  5. Once during a hypomanic episode, I thought that I was going to become a freelance jewelry maker. I don’t know the first thing about making jewelry, but at the time, I believed that I knew all that I needed to know, and I’d be a good one. So, I went to a local store that had all of the items I needed to start my “business”. I spent almost $200 (which was a lot for me since I was practically broke) on items that I didn’t even know if they were necessary, but in my mind, they were. I came home, organized it all, and was all ready to embark on my entrepreneur adventure. Last summer, I was cleaning out my closet and came across a box with the supplies and materials inside. Almost all of them were still there, and unused. I had completely forgotten about that experience, until I found them.
  6. Another hypomanic period, over a week period I spent over $300 on Lego Key Chains with characters I liked from movies and cartoons. It made me feel so good to buy them, and I felt like I had done something awesome, ‘cause a few of them were rare. They cost $50 each… money I didn’t have. I hated that I did that afterward. They now sit in a box in my closet. What a waste.
  7. When I was little, I always wanted to learn how to play the violin. I’m not sure what it was about that instrument, but I think it had to do with its elegance. It just had such a sweet sound in my ears, and I always wanted to learn it.

 

My Nominations:
– DeeDee from The Disorderly Chickadee
bRaving Bipolar
– Rainey from Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

 

Seven Things About You Award

I have Boo (crazybeanrider) from Time Out in the Giggle House to thank for this fun award. Boo is awesome and has been such a kind and supportive person, from the first time we met here in blogging land. I am so happy to be able to know you, Boo, and I thank you so much for this award. I appreciate that you considered me for it.

Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Share seven things about you.
  • Nominated other bloggers you think deserve the award, and post on their blog to let them know they have been nominated.

 

Hmmm… Ok, let’s see… Seven more things:

  1. I once cut my own hair when I was around eight-years-old. I thought I knew what I was doing, and wanted to get this little curl out of my way that was near my ear. So, I grabbed the scissors and snipped away. I ended up having to wear a bobby pin on that part of my head for months afterward until it grew out normally again.
  2. As a kid, I always loved listening to the Kids Praise the Lord album. Psalty was the talking songbook, who taught kids lessons of the Bible, and they’d sing all kinds of songs. He was the best! I have it in my music library now, and I still listen to it from time-to-time.
  3. I made the mistake of once telling one of my friends in college that I love the way Vin Diesel looks in Khaki cargo pants. What can I say? He just looked good in them.  My friend never let me hear the end of it, though.
  4. We once had a family of baby skunks living under our house. Their mom must have gotten killed (really sad), and so they were left alone and confused. They were babies, and since they didn’t know what they were supposed to do, they slept all night and through the morning, and then would come out in the afternoon. One day, my dad was walking up the sidewalk, and a few of them were following behind him. I think they thought he was their papa. Eventually, we had to call the humane society, though, so they could be safely relocated.
  5. I can watch Friends over and over, but their bloopers are my ultimate addiction. I will sit in front of the computer for hours watching both Friends clips and bloopers.
  6. When I was in fifth grade, we were all working on group projects when all of a sudden we heard a loud crash and our classroom shook. Everyone dove under the desks thinking it was an earthquake. But, in actuality, it was a huge trailer truck that had lost control and slammed right into the outer wall of our classroom. Thankfully, the walls stood up and the windows didn’t shatter. A few more feet and it would have hit where the windows were near our seats.
  7. My first car accident was when I was eight-years-old. My sister, brother-in-law, my nephew, and I were all coming home from a local pizza place. It was starting to drizzle. Then, we were coming near a bend in the street, and this idiot cut us off, causing my brother-in-law to lose control of the car. I remember hearing my sister scream, as we spun and then we hit hard! My nephew and I weren’t wearing our seatbelts (yeah, I know), and we both were thrown forward into the back of the driver and front passenger seats. Then, we got thrown back into the seats, and into each other. We smacked our head together really hard at one point. When the chaos stopped, I looked up and saw the entire hood of the car crumpled upward and a pole right in front of the windshield. When my brother-in-law got out of the car, my sister grabbed both me and my nephew and was trying to calm us down. But, as she hugged me, I kept trying to talk, but couldn’t. I was trying to tell her that I couldn’t breathe. I had asthma as a kid, and the accident had knocked the wind out of me, and caused it to flare up. I felt like I was suffocating, ‘cause no air was getting into my lungs. I was trying to push her away, but she thought I was just scared and kept saying it was all going to be ok. We finally got out of the car, and once I had fresh air, my lungs started working again. It was the most terrifying feeling I had ever had. Thankfully, none of us were injured, aside from some serious nerve jarring and achy muscles. But, considering that my nephew and I got thrown around the entire back seat, it was truly a blessing that we were ok. I’ve often thought about how, if we had not hit the back of the front seats, we would have both probably flown through the windshield. Not a thought I like to entertain.

 

My Nominations:
– Kevin from Voices of Glass
– Dotty from Notes from a She-Hermit

 

Sisterhood of the World of Bloggers Award

Angel, from The Mirth of Despair nominated me for this award. I didn’t even know that this award existed, so it was really cool to receive it. Angel has been a joy to get to know, and often gets me thinking with her posts. I love that. Thank you for considering me for this award, Angel.

The Rules:

  • Thank the giver.
  • Post 7 things about yourself.
  • Pass the award to other bloggers and let them know of their nomination.
  • Include the logo of the award in a post, or on your blog.

 

My Seven Things (Oh boy, I’m running out of stuff to say):

  1. I almost got a tattoo years back. My friends and I went into a tattoo parlor, and were looking at the designs. We wanted to get one that day, and were so close. But, we were still apprehensive about it, so we walked back outside. We stood outside for a bit talking about it, trying to decide what we should do, when this guy came up to us, wearing a white tank shirt, smoking a cigarette, and tattooed all over this arms, neck, chest, back (well, upper from what we could see), and part of the back of his head. He had overheard us, and came up to us and asked us, “You girls thinking about a tattoo?” We answered with a yes, and he said, “You should do it. They’re awesome. You won’t regret it.” He then walked away. My friends and I just looked at each other and decided to think about it. I still don’t have one, but I’ve never forgotten what that guy said. I have to admit. The thought of getting one still often goes through my mind. There is a part of me that wants one, but another that doesn’t. Oh, decisions, decisions.
  2. I’ve seen, and liked, my share of scary movies, but not evil or overly gory ones. I’m more into the haunted house, creepy kinds, and not the ones that have demonic themes, or extremely graphic scenes. I still haven’t seen The Exorcist, and don’t ever plan to. And, the Saw movies are way too much for me.
  3. One of my bucket list goals used to be to go skydiving. But, with my anxiety now, I can’t picture it anymore.
  4. I love the Harry Potter series. I’ve read every single book, and watched every single movie, except for the last movie (parts 1 and 2). I have procrastinated watching them, ‘cause once I do, that’s it… they’re over forever. Reading the last book was hard enough, but I knew I still had the last movie (both parts). I will watch them eventually, but right now I’m still not ready to say goodbye.
  5. In college, I had to read One Hundred Years of Solitude, by Gabriel García Márquez. That book could be confusing with all of the generations, and many characters with the name, Aureliano, but I absolutely loved the book. So many people in my class didn’t like it, but I did. Although, in this case I was forced to read it for a class, it just goes to show that you can’t always go by word of mouth when it comes to literature.
  6. I had two childhood dogs, as a kid. My first dog was a beautiful half collie, half German shepherd, and he was a loving and strong protector. My mom and dad had him from before I was born. Then, after years of him being the only dog, we got a new dog. He was a black lab, and such a playful and lovable dog. Our first dog died, a year later when I was nine, and my mom made a comment after his death that he probably died of sadness. He was suddenly no longer king of the yard, and was probably heartbroken, feeling replaced. Even though he was still king of our yard, she said that he didn’t feel that way anymore, and that was probably why he died so soon. My dad said the same thing one night, and I heard him. From then on, after hearing my parents, I always felt like I helped to kill my dog. They didn’t tell me that, but that’s what I thought in my mind. I was in love with the new puppy, and he was so much more playful than our other dog that was much older. I loved my first dog so much, but didn’t give him as much attention anymore after the puppy came. Although, I know that I can’t go back and change it that would be something that I wish I could change. I cried so much when he died, and I just wish I wouldn’t have taken his love for granted.
  7. When I was around four-years-old or so, my mom said that they took me to the zoo, with some other family members. At one point, everyone bought a Slurpee, and so my parents bought me one too. I was enjoying it, my mom said, but then a bee came and landed right on top of it, while I was drinking it. My mom said that I didn’t scream, or cry, but rather held onto my cup firmly. I then started saying very loudly, “Mama, get that bee off my Slurpee!” “Get that bee off my Slurpee, Mama!” When my mom realized what I meant, she immediately grabbed the Slurpee and threw it on the ground. She didn’t want me to get stung. That is when I cried. My mom and dad bought me a new Slurpee, though.

 

My Nominations:
– Eileen from But She’s Crazy
– Kathy from Bipolar and Breastless
– Rachel from My Bipolar Life

 

 

Thanks for reading, all. I know this was quite a lot of facts about myself, so I appreciate you reading through it all. As always, I wish I could nominate everyone. You are all worthy of these awards, and do so much through your blogs.

 

16 thoughts on “Seven Very Inspiring Things About the Sisterhood

  1. Summer, thank you so much for your kind words about me!! And, thank you for the new award!! WOW!! How cool to be thought of and to join a sisterhood like this one!!

    Thank you so much!!
    Kathy

  2. Pingback: Joining A Sisterhood « bipolarandbreastless

  3. Pingback: Seven ‘more’ Things About Me « Voices of Glass

  4. Pingback: Yay! I’m An Honorary Sister! « Voices of Glass

  5. Aw, thanks for the nomination!

    I also buy up all the stuff for a new undertaking when hypomanic – sometimes I get it started but then the abandoned carcass of my crazy dreams just takes up space and makes me feel guilty. Sometimes I do go back and make progress on them, though.

    • You’re welcome! 🙂

      As for the undertaking new stuff during hypomania… yeah, it really can make that guilt come through strongly when we don’t finish it. That’s great that you’re able to get some progress on them sometimes. I tend to be able to sometimes get some of my digital illustrations done that I start during those times, but I have so many that are unfinished in a folder on my computer. Maybe someday. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award « bRaving Bipolar

  7. Thanks for your kind words. 🙂 I don’t know why someone wouldn’t like “One Hundred Years of Solitude” . . . it seems to me that sometimes people don’t like a book just because they had to read it for school, ha.

  8. Pingback: Awards and Stuff « Disorderly Chickadee

Leave a Reply

