My Musical Foe

Look at him.

He’s just standing there. Watching me. Mocking me.

He tempts me to give into the urge of taking his body into my arms, and gently gliding my fingers down his neck.

He laughs in silent persuasion, getting into my head and making me feel his sensation of melodic hypnosis.

What can I do? The temptation is too much. I must give in. I have to go forward and embrace the yearning… the craving that has overcome me.

Should I do it? Should I allow myself this pleasure?

I guess I have nothing to lose.

So, yeah, I’ve decided to learn how to play the guitar. Ever since childhood I’ve wanted to learn how to play a musical instrument. Within the last decade, I have tried to learn the piano and the acoustic guitar, but I never stuck with them for more than about a month or so. I ended up selling both instruments, once I thought that I was going to leave that dream behind. Well, I’ve decided that it’s time to try again, but this time stick with it and give it a real go. I’m going to be teaching myself, so we’ll see how well it goes.

I’ve purchased a very inexpensive, but well-reviewed, electric guitar. I don’t want to spend a lot of money on something that might just turn into my last two attempts at joining in on the world’s musical culture. I have decided on an electric guitar for practical reasons. I don’t want to disturb the rest of the household when I want to play at night, so with the amp that I have purchased (another inexpensive one), I will be able to plug in some headphones to keep my playing almost silent (unless you’re siting in the same room, you won’t hear it) to everyone else.

I’ve setup some goals for learning an instrument this time around. Hopefully, they will keep me grounded enough to not allow the guitar to gather dust.

  • Learn how to properly pick the strings. This was a problem the last time around, as I had feared that I’d snap them in half. I never applied the right amount of pressure.
  • Next, I will start to learn to read music. I learned to do so back in my fifth grade’s music appreciation class, but that was a long time ago. So, it’s time for me to refresh this chaotic brain of mine and see if I can regain my grasp on the ability.
  • I will follow up my learning of music by applying what I’ve learned. I plan on practicing with the guitar while learning the music too, but I don’t want to get all “Speedy Gonzalez” on myself and try to go too fast. That’s how I’ll probably burn myself out before even having a chance to enjoy the fire.
  • Practice! Practice! Practice!
  • Finally, I will end this journey with an outdoor musical rendition of Animal House’s “Shout”, and bring the city down to its feet with my musical genius. People will gather ‘round me in cheers and shake the rockin’ van that I’m standing on, chanting, “Summer! Summer! Summer!” Then, as I’m hauled off to jail for disturbing the peace, I’ll flash a wink at my newly found fans, in confirmation that I’ll be back and even better in the future. My fellow inmates will admire my fortitude, and I will rally them together in a rousing rendition of Elvis’ “Jailhouse Rock”. And, I’ll go down in history as the one person to bring together so many people in unity for a better tomorrow.

Yes! That is what will happen!

Well, maybe after I’ve terrified all of the birds and dogs away from my neighborhood with my musical sounds that will mimic fighting, screeching, and poo-flinging monkeys.

In all seriousness, I know that I’ll be probably practicing for the rest of my life, as I doubt I will ever become great. But, that’s ok. I don’t mind that because my goal isn’t to be awesome, it’s just to learn.

I do have one last goal in mind for my musical journey though, and that is to write original music. I’ve loved to write since childhood, and I would often compose music lyrics that only my family ever heard. I’ve come across some audio recordings recently that have me singing as a young child. These were songs that I wrote with the innocent mind of a child, and with a desire for my voice to be heard. Unfortunately, I only had the tunes in my head, as I couldn’t write them down. I had only learned the basics of reading music back then, and writing music was foreign to me. I would like to someday be able to understand music notes enough – and be able to actually play them decently – so that I can write music lyrics again, but with actual notes and chords to go with them.

So, I shall begin this musical journey with this post. Along with my all-time favorite song, “I Don’t Want to Live on the Moon”. I’ve loved this song since I was a toddler, as I always wanted to have the moon all to myself back then. I never slept right as a child and spent many nights filled with unending energy, while my mom tried not to pass out from exhaustion in the middle of the night. While awake throughout those toddler years, and as fired up as could be, I would just stare up at that huge glowing beauty and wanted it so badly. My mom gave me the moon when I was little, and this song has always touched my heart. It’s still my favorite and it always will be. I must learn how to play it.

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Musical Foe

Leave a Reply

